Top-down macro parsing, or higher-order macros

Hello. Total Rust newbie here!

I was experimenting with macros, when I stumbled on a deceptively simple problem: how to parse a comma- (or other symbol-) separated list of parts, where each part may have to be parsed with its own set of rules.

I figured the cleanest way would be to have one macro parse the structure and defer each part to a sub-macro. This would allow me to use the most appropriate pattern-matching in the sub-macro, while keeping the outer one as generic as possible. In fact, the outer macro could be higher-order, taking the name of the sub-macro as an argument.

For the sake of argument, let’s assume this template code:

macro_rules! foobar_item {
    (foo) => {
        println!("Foo");
    };
    (bar $x:expr) => {
        println!("Bar {}", $x);
    };
}

macro_rules! foobar {
    // ???
}

fn main() {
    foobar!(foo, bar 2, bar 3);
}

How would you fill in the ???

I thought I’d be able to use $( ),* for example with something generic like $( $($t:tt)+ ),* but it turns out that doesn’t work. If I understand the “local ambiguity” error, the comma could be either a $t:tt or the separator in $( ),* and the macro engine apparently can’t choose between the two.

While experimenting, I also found out that :tt is the only pattern type that can be captured and passed on to a sub-macro for subsequent pattern matching. If I capture something as an :expr or :stmt, for example, I cannot pass it on to a sub-macro and expect to re-match its contents there. (Why? This looks like an abstraction leak to me.)

Anyways, it looks like any top-down macro design—where you match some structure, but defer the details to sub-macros—must use a repeated :tt for its parts, but that devil :imp: cannot be used anywhere except as the last (or only) item in a set of braces () [] {}

Is this correct, by the way?