Tonic client wrapping

Hi, Im new to Rust. Im currently implementing grpc stuffs. For this Im using tonic. I read that the implementation require &mut self to refer to the Channel structure inside.

Is it correct/proper/best practice to wrap the grpc client inside Arc<Mutex<T>> here?, For Mutex I use futures::lock::Mutex to allow it run asynchronously. I put this inside a Struct to allow it to be shared across code.

pub struct MyClient {
    client: Arc<Mutex<GrpcClient<Channel>>>
}

impl MyClient {
    pub async fn send(request) {
        self.client.lock().await.grpc_method(request).await;
    }
}

Others told that to just clone the grpc client object like this:

pub struct MyClient {
    client: Arc<Mutex<GrpcClient<Channel>>>
}

impl MyClient {
    pub async fn send(request) {
        let mut client = self.client.clone();
        client.grpc_method(request).await;
    }
}

Both ways actually compiled. I just want to know which is the proper way(best practice).

Please advise, thanks!

I don't understand this sentence, please reformulate it. In general I don't understand based on your post what the problem is. Does your code not compile? Does it not work? Does it have performance issues?

The traits generated by tonic take &self to make it possible to handle multiple requests in parallel. By using a mutex, you get &mut self access, but it will no longer handle them in parallel.

1 Like

Hi, I've edited the question.

Hi, I've edited the question to be more detail.

So you think second way is better?, I read about the way tonic handle sending request through channel is by sending them one-by-one. This is one of the way to avoid back pressure thing. I'm thinking the channel is some kind of globally shared thing that must be locked for each request.