Tokio/Hyper Futures Question

Hey! I'm trying to make a log parser that performs async HTTP requests when it gets a LogResult struct. I'm very new to Rust. I've tried a bunch of things. This is where I'm currently at: https://gist.github.com/brigand/f862c01374059e809741251d28760f22

I had everything working until I tried to add the http request. I could do rx.for_each and log the LogResult structs. Now I'm running into issues with the write_record function and the future it needs to return.

From what I've read, I'm supposed to return a Box of the future from write_record, but I can't figure out how to pass it to core.run.

Any help would be appreciated!

I think rx.for_each() is the way to go - this will be the future that you pass to Core, i.e. core.run(rx.for_each(...)). This future resolves when the stream is done (i.e. rx has no more log records to yield).

Inside for_each, you call your write_record function. This function should yield a Future<Item=(), Error=WriteRecordError>. The Core will run this returned future to completion before the next item in the stream is consumed. So, you don't need to pass that future to Core::run(), you should Core::run() the "root" future, which will be your rx.for_each(), as mentioned above.

Thanks for the response. The issue with for_each is that it runs with no concurrency in this case (or at least how I tried to use it). This compiles and runs, but it's receive log, send http request, wait for response, receive log, etc.

let handle = core.handle();
    let f2 = rx.map_err(|e| WriteRecordError::Silent).and_then(move |res| {
        match res {
            Ok(log) => {
                write_record(handle.clone(), log)
            }
            Err(_) => Box::new(::futures::future::err::<(), WriteRecordError>(WriteRecordError::Silent)),
        }
    }).for_each(|_| {
        Ok(())
    });

core.run(f2);

(Got this functional after posting my question).