Tokio AsyncRead + AsyncWrite cannot borrow as mutable in Pin

Hi all,

I'm quite new to Rust and ownership and borrowing has been one of the hardest things to get my head around. I'm writing a proxy using tokio for async and I'm trying to use the AsyncRead and AsyncWrite traits so that I can use the same function for both a TcpStream and an SslStream.

I've been working on this on and off for several months so I can't remember exactly how I got to this point, but the below code is what I currently have, and the compiler complains that s cannot be borrowed as mutable (this line: let s = Pin::<&mut T>::new(&mut s);).

I'm guessing that this is either something to do with asynchronicity or with Pin, but if I remove the mut from all of the relevant declarations, it then complains that poll_read doesn't exist in s.

async fn handle_http_request<T: AsyncRead + AsyncWrite + Unpin>(mut socket: &T) -> Result<(), Error> {
    let mut request_string = String::new();
    let mut s = socket.clone();
    poll_fn(|cx| {
        let mut buf = [0; 1024];
        let mut buf = ReadBuf::new(&mut buf);
        loop {
            let s = Pin::<&mut T>::new(&mut s);
            s.poll_read(cx, &mut buf);
            if buf.filled().len() > 0 {
                request_string.push_str(std::str::from_utf8(buf.filled()).unwrap());
                buf.clear();
            } else {
                return Poll::Ready(());
            }
        }
    });
    // ... more code here...
}

Any support would be greatly appreciated. If you need any more information, let me know.

Did you mean to make T bound by + Clone? It looks like at the moment

let mut s = socket.clone();

is merely cloning the shared reference you passed into the function.

Your function takes an immutable reference to the socket, but the methods on the AsyncRead/AsyncWrite traits require mutable access. That's never going to work.