Threads in Rust

Hi,

I am new to Rust and I am trying to add up all previous numbers to a given number. To do so, I am trying to implement it with threads, since it can be an expensive operation after a million numbers. I created a Struct to hold a vector with all numbers but I am having problems with lifetimes when I try to pass this reference to the threads. I read something about Arc to do this, but it does not work.

I leave the code here in case someone can help me and explain me why it does not work as expected:

Thank you in advance.

use std::sync::Arc;
use std::thread;

pub struct Rectangle {
sides: Vec,
}

impl Rectangle {
pub fn new() -> Rectangle {
Rectangle {
sides: (1..1000000000).collect(),
}
}

pub fn accumulate(self) -> i128 {
    let mut result = 0;
    let mut futures = Vec::with_capacity(4);
    for chunk in self.sides.chunks((self.sides.len() + 3) / 4) {
        let atomic_chunk = Arc::new(chunk).clone();
        let future = thread::spawn(move || {
            for number in atomic_chunk.iter() {
                result += number;
            }
        });
        futures.push(future);
    }

for future in futures {
        future.join();
    }
    return result;
}

}

Note that these aren't futures, they're threads. Those are two distinct concepts.

The best way to do this would probably be with rayon, which adds a ParallelIterator trait, allowing you to .par_iter().sum() and get all the plumbing for free.

The main problem is that thread::spawn requires 'static, because the lifetime of the thread is completely unconnected to the lifetime of the calling scope. This means it cannot borrow anything from the calling scope. (Rayon and crossbeam allow you to scope threads, so that you can borrow from the containing scope.)

3 Likes

@CAD97, Thank you for your reply.