Threadpool performance really bad

Hi,

i am new to rust started experimenting with threadpools

i have written a simple tcp client server and client

1. client sends continuously 4K buffers (when ever socket is writable)
  2. Server reads values and writes back

i am using mic for events

when i don't use any threads i am getting 750MBps on my mac i7 with 1 core fully consumed for server and 1 core for client.

i started experimenting with thread pool on server side so that it can handle more clients.

i tried

1. create a thread pool with 4 threads

2. spawn a function running loop

3. cloned server tcplistener socket

4. all the threads will be listening on this socket

5. when ever there is a client one of them picks up and adds to its mio event loop.

the performance for single client when down to 400MBps and fluctuating very badly,

i must be doing some thing really wrong here. could someone help me what is it.

i tired rayon pool, thread pool, scooped pool.

My CPU utilization went very high, all cores are busy. i have 2 physical cores each with 4 threads (total 8).

Hey! Sorry you're having this trouble. A couple of questions:

1. Can you share the code here?
  2. Are you compiling with optimizations? (that's cargo build --release or rustc -O)

i am running as cargo run --release, compiled with release as well.

hers is the loop i am doing on each thread.
the main just creates TcpListener.
clones it for each spawn
creates thread pool calls spawn 4 times if 4 threads are in pool.

fn handle_client(server : TcpListener) {
let mut clients: HashMap<Token, TcpStream> = HashMap::new();
let poll = Poll::new().unwrap();
let mut events = Events::with_capacity(1024);
let mut buf = [0; 4096];

poll.register(&server, SERVER, Ready::readable(), PollOpt::edge())
    .unwrap();

loop {
    poll.poll(&mut events, None).unwrap();

for event in events.iter() {
        match event.token() {
            SERVER => {
                let client_con = match server.accept() {