Thoughts on "broken build" (unit tests failing) --- its not what you think :D

I'm new to rust, and the best way for me to learn is create a project that has some value to me. My project is to take cargo test output and reformat it into html. In order to test all of the test cases, I have to have some failing tests. But that means my CI fails. You can see it here

How should I handle this:

1. Have a separate project that's not in the CI for generating test data
  2. Use the #[ignore] attribute on the test methods unless I need them to fail
  3. Is there a better option?

I don't like #2 because it means I'm likely to forget the ignore attribute from time to time. Seems ugly.

I was wondering if anyone had some thoughts about what I could do.

Thnx
Matt

Tag them with #[should_panic].

https://doc.rust-lang.org/book/second-edition/ch11-01-writing-tests.html#checking-for-panics-with-should_panic

Wait, I think you're asking for something more complicated...

If you want this to be conditional, you can use #[cfg_attr(not(feature = "fail"), ignore)] with a "fail" feature in Cargo.toml. Is that what you mean?

I think so. I would like my CI build to pass, and during CI unit tests are actual unit tests to run. I would like to be able to get failed and ignored unit test results when I am testing my app (locally). Can you explain a little bit more how that might work?

Matt

In your Cargo.toml, you'd have something like:

[features]
fail = []

Then with that cfg_attr I wrote applied to a test, cargo test would effectively apply #[ignore], and cargo test --features fail would run it like a normal test.

The test runner also has an --ignored option, so you could just enable all #[ignore] tests at once using cargo test -- --ignored. (The middle "--" separates cargo options before and test runner options after.)