The Rust module system is too confusing

@withoutboats wrote: https://withoutboats.github.io/blog/rust/2017/01/04/the-rust-module-system-is-too-confusing.html

DISCLAIMER: I had a C++ background, where “modules” are textual includes, and the paths are always explicit. This background definitely had an impact in how I started learning modules (e.g. anything implicit at the filesystem level was extremely surprising to me at the beginning and completely unexpected: “how does it know that it has to import the mod.rs file inside the foo directiory after refactoring foo.rs automatically?”).

I basically agree with the main point behind the blog post:

The Rust module system is undesirably difficult to understand

but I completely disagree on the observations about why.

The first observation is:

There is simply a lot of syntax

The syntax is mod, extern crate, use/pub use, and use patterns like *, super, self … It is some syntax, but it is not a lot of syntax.

Rust requires users to build an explicit module graph

This is a really really good thing, but if I had to name the single biggest difficulty I had while learning modules, that would be that the module graph wasn’t explicit enough. As a newcomer, depending on where you add a file (and the name of the file, and whether it is in a new sub-directory or not, …), you are adding new modules/edges/branches to the graph without writing any keywords. This felt like magic! And understanding how this worked was the toughest part of understanding the module system. Then paths sometimes started from the root of the module, sometimes from the local module (using super, self, …). This was also baffling at the beginning. If you combine the implicit graph structure in the file hierarchy, with using the wrong paths, and unhelpful compiler errors, learning modules was a frustrating experience.