The difference between several ways to display each element in a vector

I recently started to study Rust. Now, I am studying about ownership and references. I want to display each element in a vector. There are three ways to achieve this.

let vec = vec![1,2,3,4,5];

// method 1
for &v in &vec {
    println!("{}", v);
}

// method2
for v in &vec {
    println!("{}", v);
}

//method3
for v in vec {
    println!("{}", v);
}

If I use the method3, ownership of "vec" is moved. I can understand it. But I can't tell the difference between method1 and method2.
Both methods treat "vec" as a reference, so ownership is not moved.
The difference is the reference to "v". I understand that each element in a "vec" is in "v" in the method2, but I do not know what is in "v" in the method1.
In addition to it, I don't know why I get the same result in both methods.

Sorry for the rudimentary question, but can someone tell me about it?

1 Like

... in &vec results in an iterator that returns &isize. With method 1, the &v in the pattern is matched against the &isize from the iterator, and the result is "assign an isize to v on each loop". With method 2, you instead "assign a &isize to v on each loop" -- a reference to each isize within the vector.

Method 1 only works because isize is Copy -- it can copy out the values from the iterator onto v. If you try method 1 on a vector of items that aren't Copy, you'll get an error about moving a non-Copy value. Here's an example on the playground:

2 Likes

OK, so first, like @quinedot mentioned, it's good to do this with non-copy types to really see how the ownership is working so that Rust doesn't implicitly copy stuff and make things look simpler/different than they are.

So let's do this with Strings and look at method 1:

fn main() {
    let vec = vec![
        "one".to_string(),
        "two".to_string(),
        "three".to_string(),
        "four".to_string(),
    ];

for v in &vec {
        println!("{}", v);
    }
}