Text file manipulation (io, fs,...)

Cheers all,

I'm new to Rust and want to start a new desktop project using Rust (floating point calculation-intensive), where I intend to make use of the multi-threading Rust capabilities to split tasks in parallel in a 8-core processor. I need to read/write simple text files. I've noticed that the io system in Rust has undergone major changes recently (with the approximation of the launching of version 1.0.0) -- I read some threads in the forums and I got a bit confused...

I tried to create/write-into a text file using a simplification of an example from std::fs::File. I ran it with the beta1.0.0 and with the current nightly on Windows-7 64 bits. Get an error. Below are the code (4 lines :slight_smile: ) and the error. Tried to remedy the thing in a couple other ways (e.g. using old_io, googling some examples) but always got into errors.

I would appreciate very much both a pointer to my mistake and a pointer to up-to-date docs about the io and fs systems that will be stable in Rust 1.0.0.

Thanks in advance and regards

Jose

//////// CODE //////

//use std::io::prelude::*;
use std::fs::File;

fn main() {
let mut f = File::create("foo.txt");
f.write_all("Hello, world!");
}

//////////////// ERROR ////////////////

rustc t2.rs
t2.rs:7:4: 7:30 error: type core::result::Result<std::fs::File, std::io::error::Error> does not implement any method in scope named write_all
t2.rs:7 f.write_all("Hello, world!");
^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
error: aborting due to previous error
Exit code: 101

Hi jasa,

Have a look at the std::fs::File API. If you scroll down to the create() function, you'll notice that create() returns a Result<File>, and not a File. What you'll want to do is wrap your create() method call with the try!() macro. That macro automatically unwraps the Result if everything went OK, otherwise it will return the error that was called. See below:

fn main() {
let mut f = try!(File::create("foo.txt"));
}