TBS game, any advice for a beginner?

I shall begin with a disclaimer: I am just an amateur programmer, and little knowledgeable, so I don't really know what I'm doing. I would need some general advice before going on with a project of mine, to avoid wasting time with an ill-designd approach.

I began writing a turn-based strategy (TBS) game. I thought it would be a good idea to split the project in two: a generic library providing some tools to implement a generic TBS, and the actual game using the library.

The library defines traits, which are used as trait objects. For example:

trait Class {}

struct Unit {
   class: Box<Class>,
}

impl Unit {
    pub fn new(class: Box<Class>) -> Unit {
        Unit {
            class,
        }
    }
}

The user of the library is then expected to create its own types implementing Class:

struct Warrior {}
impl Class for Warrior {}
let warrior = Unit::new(Warrior{})

Then, to inspect Units' class, I guess I will need to use Any and downcast. To make things easier, I'm using the mopa crate, so I redefine Class as:

#[macro_use]
extern crate mopa;

trait Class: mopa::Any {}
mopafy!(Class);

My main doubs are:

• Is it a good idea to implement a separate, generic library?
  • Is using trait objects and Any a good idea? I read around that Any should be used only in very particular situations, but I don't see how I could avoid using it.
  • Are there other issues I am not aware of?
1 Like