Systems requiring a lot of "Mutual Access"

Hi. I'm quite new to Rust, but am an experienced developer. (Primarily a game developer.) I have been doing daily rust study and practice for a few weeks. After spending some time just reading The Book, my approach was to write a lot of very small tests to just try out different features and discover what kind of knots I would find myself tangled up in. These tangles were pretty common, but I generally found a way around them by shifting my thinking. I have since moved on to trying to implement a few system that I would generally use for any kind of game development. These are systems I've written many times in various games and languages in the past, so I am quite familiar with how to implement them in languages without a single ownership rule.

The system I am having trouble on right now is that of a Spatial Hash. In my initial implementation I have a HashMap with tuple keys representing 2D chunks of the world and the entities in that region: 'HashMap<(i32, i32), Vec>' As entities move around the world, they must let the map know they have changed position, and if they have crossed the boundary from one cell to another, they must be moved from the Vector they are in to the other.

So far, I have that part working fine. The map owns the entities, and mutable references can be obtained from the Hash for use by the program. For the kinds of simulations I want to be able to do, entities will use the spatial hash to find out which entities that are nearby, and interact with them. Since entities need to be able to hold "references" to each other, something Rust does not allow, I plan to store these references as ids (simple numeric id generated uniquely for each entity that is created.)