Struggling with concurrency, value dropped while borrowed compiler error

I'm attempting to write some code to calculate the Collatz Conjecture/3n+1 problem for my first attempt at concurrent programming in Rust. Moving from Python I am still new to ownership, borrowing, and concurrency, so I apologise in advance for this messy implementation.

My idea is I have a vector, values, over which I will calculate the iterations required/taken and maximum value of the 3n+1 problem for each given number. The order of each number calculated isn't important, so I've attempted to split the array into chunks according to the number of CPUs of the system, as I want to be able to run this on various hardware without altering the code. For each chunk I want to spawn a new thread to iterate through the vector slices, and use message passing to pass the results downstream as described in the Rust book. A snippet of the code I have written is as follows:

fn collatz(start_value: usize) -> (u16, usize) {
    // --snip-- applying 3n+1 problem logic
    (iterations, max_value)
}

fn run_multithread(values: Vec<usize>) {
    let (tx, rx) = mpsc::channel();
    let num_cpus = num_cpus::get();

for slice in values.chunks(num_cpus) { // error points to here: `argument requires that `values` is borrowed for `'static``
        let tx = tx.clone(); // not sure if this is necessary or correct?
        thread::spawn(move || {
            for value in slice {
                let (iterations, max_value) = collatz(*value);
                let out = (*value, iterations, max_value);
                tx.send(out).unwrap();
            }
        });
    }
    for _ in 0..num_cpus {
        // --snip-- unwrap the output and do something with it
    }
} // error points to here: ``values` dropped here while still borrowed`