String pattern match with multiple conditions

Hi!

I am new to the Rust programming language and at the moment I am facing the following problem:

I receive data from a csv file that is structured in multiple columns like (please note that I have no control over the structure of the csv file):

date; description; value_1; value_2;...; value_n

My goal is to group the rows based on keywords in the description field and perform different calculations on the values depending on which group they fall into.

At the moment I have something like this (deserialized with csv using serde):

if description.contains("keyword #1") | description.contains("keyword #2") {
   do_somthing(all_the_values);
} else if description.contains("keyword #3") | description.contains("keyword #4") | description.contains("keyword #5") {
    do_something_else(all_the_values);
} else {
    do_fallback(all_the_values);
}

To me, this seems like a working but rather inelegant way to do this. My questions in general is:

What would be the most rust-idiomatic way to handle this?

Thank you!

Best,
Ted

This seems like a fine use case for regular expressions? Although if this is as simple as "string contains literal string", it might simply not be worth the hassle.

1 Like

I don't think your code is necessarily unidiomatic. Without using some more advanced string matching functionality like regular expressions would provide, you could use a match statement instead of your if-else chain to make it look a little bit more self-contained, maybe:

match description {
    _ if description.contains("keyword #1") | description.contains("keyword #2") => {},
    _ if description.contains("keyword #3") | description.contains("keyword #4") | description.contains("keyword #5") => {}
    _ => {}
}
3 Likes

Yeah it looks okay to me honestly.