Storing futures

Hello!

I'm very new to Rust and running into a compiler error that isn't giving me enough clues about where to go next to learn more. Here's the example:

let f1 = async {
        println!("Hello from f1");
    };
    let f2 = async {
        println!("Hello from f2");
    };

let futures = vec![f1, f2];

I get the following error message, which I do not know how to decipher:

error[E0308]: mismatched types
43 |     let futures = vec![f1, f2];
   |                            ^^ expected generator, found a different generator
   |
   = note: expected type `impl std::future::Future` (generator)
              found type `impl std::future::Future` (generator)

There are clearly some subtleties about futures that I don't understand, but given that error message I don't even know where to start looking. Any tips or recommendations for what I should be reading up on to understand what this means?

(Also, even if storing futures this way is non-nonsensical, I'd still like to understand what is going on here)

Edit: I should also note, that if I just store one future in the vector, it compiles, adding to my confusion.

Thanks!

2 Likes

All async blocks have their own type, and no two async blocks have the same type. This means that you can't store diffrerent async blocks together without type erasure. To get type erasure, you can use Box<dyn Future<Output = _>>.

let futures: Box<dyn Future<Output = _>> = vec![Box::new(f1), Box::new(f2)];

Box isn't special in this way, any pointer like type will do.

2 Likes

Except Box<dyn Future> isn’t a future, you should use Pin<Box<dyn Future>> instead.

4 Likes

Aha, that makes sense, thanks!

Can you elaborate on why Box<dyn Future> isn't a future and why using Pin makes it a future?

(I'll go off and read about Pin now :-))

Future requires a function fn poll(self: Pin<&mut Self>, context: &mut Context) -> Poll<Self::Output> docs