Stm32f103 led asynchronously

I'm completely new to Rust, and way out of my depth. I have a lot of C++ experience, though.

I'm trying to get the stm32f1xx_hal working. The examples for a simple LED seem fairly convoluted. Here's how to set up pin pc13 for output, for example:

let dp = pac::Peripherals::take().unwrap();
    let mut rcc = dp.RCC.constrain();
    let mut gpioc = dp.GPIOC.split(&mut rcc.apb2);
    let mut led = gpioc.pc13.into_push_pull_output(&mut gpioc.crh);

It would be nice if I could type something like

let mut pc13 = pin_out(PC13);

Maybe creating an enum Pin { ... }.

However, there appears to be easy way to do this. GPIOA, GPIOB, ... seem to be of fundamentally different and incompatible types, even though, presumably, what I'm trying to obtain is a standard output pin that is the same regardless of the GPIO port I use.

Hmmm. I don't think the stm32f103 hal actually provides a neat answer. It seems that I'd have to hard-code every GPIO pin possibility, or else basically come up with something that peeks and pokes raw register addresses.

Is there a simple solution to this?

Also, what if I want to blink two LEDs asynchronously? What's the "standard solution"?

1 Like

I thought maybe I could use a sum_type?

So I did this:

sum_type! {
    pub enum Port { 
        PortA(stm32f1xx_hal::pac::Peripherals::GPIOA),           
        PortB(stm32f1xx_hal::pac::Peripherals::GPIOB),           
    }   
}  

but now it complains

use fully-qualified syntax: `<stm32f1xx_hal::pac::Peripherals as Trait>::GPIOB`

Hmmm.

My experience with the HAL crates has been largely the same as yours. Super convoluted to get anything done, examples are not consistent across HALs, not even within a single HAL - some examples in the nrf-hal crates are bare-metal, some use RTIC, etc. Unfortunately I don't really have the skill or the knowledge to propose anything better.