Stderr and stdout

Hello.
I am new to Rust and want to have variable that could be either stdout or stderr.
In CPP both stdout and stderr are ostream, so I can have reference to it, but in Rust types are different (Stderr and Stdout) and do not provide static lifetime (which I believe was done to prevent concurrent problems) so I can't have static livetime reference

So, the following code doesn't work

let mut stream = if env::args().len() > 2 {
        std::io::stderr()
    } else {
        std::io::stdout()
    };
    stream.write("abc".as_bytes()).unwrap();

because branches return different types.

This approach doesn't work either

let stream:&dyn Write = if env::args().len() > 2 {
        &std::io::stderr()
    } else {
        &std::io::stdout()
    };

because object dies at the end of the branch and I can't have reference to it.

I can solve it with:

1. Boxing (which sounds strange, since I do not want to touch the heap)
  2. Custom enum which could be either Stderr or Stdout, but too much boilerplace
  3. Use static polymorphism (template function or struct that accepts Write), but again too much code.

What are the reasons for having different types for stderr and stdout? What is the right approach to solve it?

Thank you.

You can declare some variables outside the if to hold the io objects.

7 Likes

It may not be very practical for beginners but if you find yourself running into this problem often, I suggest using CPS, it gives a simple enough solution with no boxing. This package makes writing CPS code very nice

1 Like

@quinedot thanks, that works! We also could do like

let mut stderr: Stderr = std::io::stderr();
    let mut stdout: Stdout = std::io::stdout();
    let mut stream: &mut dyn Write = if env::args().len() > 2 {
        &mut stdout
    } else {
        &mut stderr
    };
    write!(stream, "hello").unwrap();

but I still can't get why do we have different types for streams:)

@yuriy0 thank you! I will look at it