Statics inside functions are fun

I've been learning rust as a hobby for 2 years now. I don't actually code much in it, but I like to read a lot about it and sometimes help a friend when he as questions. I'm weird like that.

Because of that, I only realized this week that statics inside functions cannot be backed by new data each time the function runs, because how would that be realized? Statics on the heap?

So they are just like global statics but only accessible from the functions scope. After realizing that I had some fun writing a memoized fibonacci function with mutable statics. Definitely unsound when used in multiple threads. But hey. Who cares about soundness in the rust community, am I right?

Maybe it will give you a chuckle or maybe you even didn't realize this yourself.

fn main() {
    #[inline(never)]
    fn fib(n: u32) -> u64 {
        static mut CACHE: [u64; 1_000_000] = [0; 1_000_000];

if n == 0 || n == 1 {
            return 1;
        } else if unsafe { CACHE[n as usize] } != 0 {
            return unsafe { CACHE[n as usize] };
        } else {
            unsafe { CACHE[n as usize] = fib(n - 1) + fib(n - 2) };
            return unsafe { CACHE[n as usize] };
        }
    }

dbg!(fib(92));
}

(Playground)

Errors:

Compiling playground v0.0.1 (/playground)
    Finished dev [unoptimized + debuginfo] target(s) in 0.62s
     Running `target/debug/playground`
[src/main.rs:16] fib(92) = 12200160415121876738

2 Likes

Interesting... You can deal with the multi-threaded problem using thread local storage. Not 100% sure on the safety but should prevent data races.

use std::thread_local;

thread_local! {
    static mut CACHE: [u64; 1_000_000] = [0; 1_000_000];
}
1 Like

Ah nice. I actually didn't know this. Thanks :slight_smile:

Does anyone know where thread_local!{} puts its memory? Is there a per thread static section?

1 Like

or… just use AtomicU64? (playground with minimal changes)