Soundness review for Selfie, my personal self-referential struct library

For the past couple of months I've been working on Selfie, a small self-referential struct library for use in some of my personal projects. These require audio realtime-safety (and therefore no extra allocations), which is the reason why I went ahead and made my own library instead of using some existing libraries, which either allocate or do not support custom referential types (or have soundness issues).

After a small amount of use, a decent MIRI-covered test suite, and some research into other self-referential libraries' soundness issues, I'm confident enough to say that I haven't found any soundness issues with my implementation. But I'm far from an expert on the subject, so I would like to get as much review and scrutiny as possible from this community to try and find soundness issues before I promote it or use it in larger projects. :slight_smile:

The implementation is only around ~400 LOC (~1K with tests and examples). It's also fully documented, with code examples both in the docs and the Readme.

Thanks in advance for your time!

Selfie::with_referential_mut is unsound, it allows to write a <R as RefType<'s>>::Ref, where 's comes from &'s mut self, which is shorter than the lifetime of the Selfie. This allows to write an &'short str to a Selfie<String, Ref<str>> and then read it from the Selfie after the 'short lifetime has ended.

use core::pin::Pin;
use selfie::{refs::Ref, Selfie};

fn main() {
	let data: Pin<String> = Pin::new("Hello, world!".to_owned());
	let mut selfie: Selfie<String, Ref<str>> = Selfie::new(data, |s| &*s);

{
		let new_string = String::from("foo");
		selfie.with_referential_mut(|s| *s = &new_string);
	}

println!("{}", selfie.referential());
}
5 Likes

I don't understand why Pin is used.