[solved] What are the various Error Handling mechanisms in Rust?

Hello,

I am a programmer at ArrayFire and we are in the process of writing a Rust wrapper for our GPU library. You can find the library code over here and the Rust wrapper code here. ArrayFire is based off an generic multi-dimensional object known as array. We are having trouble wrapping our head around Rust’s error handling mechanism. Let me explain it with an example of Pi computation using Monte Carlo method.

C++ stub to do the Pi estimation looks like below.

try {
    array x = randu(samples,f32);
    array y = randu(samples,f32);
    double pi_val = 4.0 * sum<float>(sqrt(x*x + y*y) < 1) / samples;
 } catch (af::exception& e) {
     printf("Exception thrown: %s\n", e.what());
     exit(255);
 }

Operations such as *,+ in the above equation are element-wise.

First couple of lines using the Rust wrapper looks as below.

let samples = 20000000;
 let dims = Dim4::new(&[samples, 1, 1, 1]);
 let x = match af::randu(dims, Aftype::F32) {
          Ok(v) => v,
          Err(e) => panic!("Randu failed with code {:?}", e),
      };
 let y = match af::randu(dims, Aftype::F32) {
          Ok(v) => v,
      };
 let sq = match af::sqrt( &x * &x + &y * &y ) {
          Ok(v) => v,
          Err(e) => panic!("sqrt failed with code {:?}", e),
      };
 let comp = match af::le( &sq, 1) {
          Ok(v) => v,
      };
 let mut div_res = match af::sum_all(&div_res) {
          Ok(v) => v,
      };
let pi_val = 4.0 * div_res / samples;

Now the part where equations such as below come into question.

4.0 * sum<float>(sqrt(x*x + y*y) < 1) / samples;

We currently have implemented std::ops for Array struct that allows us to write arithmetic operations on Array’s, however they look different compared to C++ (which is natural i suppose, correct me if i am wrong). For example

z = x*x+y*y // C++ 
let z = &x * &x + &y * &y; // Rust