[SOLVED] Rust 1.5.0 on Nixos

I'm having some trouble running rust 1.5.0 on Nixos.

I use stable Nixos and a custom nix expression (based on @Ericson2314's, thanks a lot!) to install rust. Here is the gist.

While version 1.4.0 works fine, version 1.5.0 gives "error: can't find crate for std [E0463]" when I try compile anything :frowning:

I'm new to nix, so I am not even sure that this is a proper way of getting the latest stable rust to nix.

1 Like

There is an similar issue here Can't find create for std

Maybe that can give some pointers.

Cheers!

Yep, adding prePatch="mv rust-std-x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/lib/rustlib/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/ rustc/lib/rustlib/" solved my issue.

Thanks, the hint was instrumental!

FYI, I had to add a condition to the prePatch directive to make it work otherwise mv would fail on the cargo package.

prePatch=''
      if [ "$name" == "rustc" ]; then
	mv rust-std-x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/lib/rustlib/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/ rustc/lib/rustlib/
      fi
    '';

Otherwise this fixed my issue on NixOS. Thanks!

Belated followup, I've tweaked the code to work again. Changes to how rustc vs stdlib is distributed, and, more recently, the multiple output paths PR for nixpkgs, both broke it. Happy Rust+Nix!

1 Like

@Ericson2314 is there any decent way to make rustup work with NixOs?

I've gave up on it recently and just sudo ln -s /run/current-system/sw/lib/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 :frowning2:

The optimal solution is to statically link musl in all releases.
This is possible even when dynamic loading is involved (rustc could be statically linked against the musl dynamic loader, although it's not trivial).

I don't see any purpose for rustup on NixOS. All that home-directory installation stuff is a big hack in comparison IMO. Somebody could make something far smaller to grab the hashes for a specific day however (they are stored at static.rust-lang.org last I checked). Or just use the unsafe fetchurl.

1 Like