[Solved] How to scan efficiently big binary streams/files?

I would like to implement a “strings” like command line tool in Rust. It should work very fast on big binary files and filter out valid e.g. Unicode strings. The stream can be 32bit, 64bit, big endian or little endian,

I am a beginner in Rust and hope some expert can help:

1. I need a window of 1024 Bytes over the stream/file that I can advance Byte by Byte until the end of the stream.
  2. Inside the window I search for some valid string encodings meeting some additional criteria and print the string.
  3. When done I advance the window by 1 Byte and go to 2.

Speed is critical this is why a minimum copying is required. How do I implement 1.?
Can I avoid an additional ring-buffer?
If not how to implement it?
Is this possible without unsafe code? Any ideas?

Code extracts are welcome.

Buffered read and write

You might want to take a look at nom for some ideas.

I think you are going to need to build your own ring-buffer that is twice the size of your disk read size. Once you drain half the buffer, you can read the next block into the buffer. I think that gets you around the copy of bytes from an input buffer to the processing ring-buffer.

So while Xi Editor is a editor https://github.com/google/xi-editor it also aims to load data very fast (and is in Rust) so might be interesting to look at also. Now the data structures in Xi may not be exactly what you want in your use-case but still.

I think, instead of buffer window is better to use memory map.

Thank you all for your feedback so far. I will investigate your hints tomorrow.

Just mmap the whole file, it does not use any actual RAM. The OS will deal with paging in as part of the unified buffer cache. Then iterate through it and unmmap when finished.