[Solved] Can't impl IntoIterator trait. Lifetime param + associated type issues

Ok, I’m pretty new to Rust, so this might be a pretty stupid issue, but I’m banging my head against it and for the life of me I can’t figure out how to make this work.

Long story short, I want to implement the IntoIterator trait for an Iterator I have, so that I can use the “for in” loop syntax with it. But no matter what I do, I can’t make all of these things work out at the same time:

• I have to define the IntoIter associated type for IntoIterator
  • The iterator type has a lifetime parameter because it has a reference to the container
  • I can’t define a lifetime parameter in an associated type without the compiler saying that “the lifetime parameter 'a is not constrained by the impl trait, self type, or predicates”

I have uploaded a gist here with a sample showing the issue: https://gist.github.com/jonvaldes/e4abcbb250bf14a3041f

I’d be super grateful if anyone could help me figure this out!

Thanks in advance!

That’s because into_iter takes self by value, but you are implementing IntoIterator as if it took self by reference. A correct implementation is for &'a V3: http://is.gd/qVOPW5

Oh, I didn’t see that one coming!
Thank you sooo much!

You’re welcome :slightly_smiling:

I’m risking you getting bored with me here, but I’m once again fighting the type checker and some help would be much appreciated.

I’m now trying to add a mutable iterator, and the compiler gets terribly confused by that, saying it “cannot infer an appropriate lifetime for autoref due to conflicting requirements”. And then it suggests a solution which doesn’t actually compile because it doesn’t meet the Iterator trait’s requirements.

Any idea what I could do with this?
http://is.gd/Cqwexb

P.S: People keep telling me they ended up getting used to the type checker, but man this is obtuse!

IterMut is a tricky case. You can for example read @Gankro’s thoughts about it.