Slices, vectors, arrays, handled generically

I'm a long-time C++ programmer and am beginning to explore Rust. In order to develop some Rust skills I'm implementing standard, well-known algorithms and trying to do it in a Rust-idiomatic way. Presently, it's insertion sort.

In C++, I could write a generic insertion sort easily enough:

template<std::random_access_iterator RandomIterator>
void sort(RandomIterator first, RandomIterator last)
{
    // do magic
}

However, this doesn't seem to translate well into Rust, where (as far as I can tell) iterators are limited to purely sequential access.

I've also tried to find a trait shared by slices, vectors, and arrays to let me take a parameter of mut &T<U>, where T would be the type of the container and U the type of its contained element. So far, I'm not finding anything.

I've found a number of solutions of dubious quality, most of which seem to be awfully baroque for such a simple problem in generics. So, I've come here to ask for some help: where ought I look for a Rust way to accept generic random-access containers as mut & parameters?

Many thanks for any help y'all can give. I appreciate it. :slight_smile:

1 Like

The Rust analogue of a C++ iterator for random access use is a slice reference, i.e. &mut [T]. Any collection that is contiguous in memory can be borrowed as a slice.

4 Likes

Rust doesn't have higher-kinded types (HKT) like &T<U>. However, vectors (Vec<T>) and arrays ([T; N]) both coerce into slices [T].

For this particular problem, I would probably look at using slices and their methods directly.

(The closest thing I can think of to a "random access trait" are the Index traits, but I don't really think that's a good fit.)

3 Likes