Simple project recompiles all dependencies when files change

Hello, I’m new to Rust and have started my first project which uses the flate2 crate.

Whenever I edit my own code and run cargo build, all dependencies appear to get recompiled. Is this normal behavior or a bug? I found an issue on GitHub, but it seems to be resolved.

cargo --version: cargo 0.13.0-nightly (109cb7c 2016-08-19)
rustc --version: rustc 1.12.0 (3191fbae9 2016-09-23)

Below the output of a project created via cargo new testapp --bin. Only Cargo.toml has been modified to contain flate2 as a dependency. Between each build, main.rs is modified, e.g. by adding a blank line:

user@host:/tmp/testapp$ cargo build
    Blocking waiting for file lock on build directory
   Compiling gcc v0.3.35
   Compiling libc v0.2.16
   Compiling miniz-sys v0.1.7
   Compiling flate2 v0.2.14
   Compiling testapp v0.1.0 (file:///tmp/testapp)
    Finished debug [unoptimized + debuginfo] target(s) in 4.20 secs

# --- no change to main.rs here --

Finished debug [unoptimized + debuginfo] target(s) in 0.0 secs

# --- main.rs modified here --

Blocking waiting for file lock on build directory
   Compiling gcc v0.3.35
   Compiling libc v0.2.16
   Compiling flate2 v0.2.14
   Compiling testapp v0.1.0 (file:///tmp/testapp)
    Finished debug [unoptimized + debuginfo] target(s) in 4.15 secs

I can’t reproduce this. I’m on Debian Linux.

[steve@becoming tmp]$ cargo new testapp --bin                                                                                                                                                         
     Created binary (application) `testapp` project                                                                                                                                                   
[steve@becoming tmp]$ cd testapp/