Simple Generics problem

Hi. I'm new to Rust and just signed up in this forum. Looking forward to my explorations in this language. Forgive me if this question is too basic for this forum. I'm trying to write a simple generic function something like this:

fn myfunc<T> (v: &Vec<T>) -> Vec<T>
    where T: std::ops::Mul 
{
      let result : Vec<T> = v.iter().map(|x| x * x).collect();
      result
}

but get the compiler error binary operation * cannot be applied to type &T
I know this is because iter() gives me a reference to the underlying type but don't know how else to write it (using ref x or *x doesn't seem to help). Thanks for your help

The simplest solution is to require Clone:

fn myfunc<T> (v: &Vec<T>) -> Vec<T>
where T: Clone + std::ops::Mul<Output=T>,
{
      let result : Vec<T> = v.iter().map(|x| x.clone() * x.clone()).collect();
      result
}
2 Likes

You can make the lifetime of the borrow explicit, or use HRTB:

fn myfunc<'borrow, T : 'borrow> (v: &'borrow [T]) -> Vec<T>
where
    &'borrow T : std::ops::Mul<Output = T>,
{
      let result : Vec<T> = v.iter().map(|x| x * x).collect();
      result
}
2 Likes

Thanks! This works. I don't really understand the logic of it - the compiler performs a deref coercion only if the lifetime of the borrow is explicit? Is it something to do with the compiler being unable to infer the reference type (and hence if it implements Deref)? But how does adding explicit lifetime bounds make the compiler any wiser?

Thanks. I was only able to get this to work by adding this line to the trait bounds (I'm using version 1.35.0) :
where std::vec::Vec<T>: std::iter::FromIterator<<T as std::ops::Mul>::Output>

Take another look at my snippet:

where T: Clone + Mul<T, Output=T>
1 Like

The thing is that the product you wrote in the iterator used a borrow to a T as both the left and right operands (and had to output an owned T).

Hence the bound &T : Mul<Output = T>.