Simple command-line program - can it be improved?

Hello All!
I am a Rust newbie and learning Rust since a month. Loving it so far. My daughter saw me learning Rust and she gave me this project to do :slight_smile:

I wanted to know if there is anyway I can improve this program. I am coming from a web dev (PHP) background.

Thanks in advance.

I made some changes which should be pretty simple here (it doesn't compile since colored isn't available on the playground).

I hoisted up the array declaration out of the loop, replaced the color strings with the color enum and used the rand crate more like it's supposed to, the gen method is generic and returns a bool here, the choose method comes from the SliceRandom trait. Also instead of reversing the vec at the end, I just reversed the iteration order.

plus tiny enhancement in the area of DRY principle... i'd replace this 5 line block:

if rng.gen() {
    result.push(format!("{}", c.to_uppercase().to_string().color(color)));
} else {
    result.push(format!("{}", c.to_lowercase().to_string().color(color)));
}

with these two lines:

let cased_char = if rng.gen() { c.to_uppercase() } else { c.to_lowercase() };
result.push(format!("{}", cased_char.to_string().color(color)));

so that you don't have to repeat whole result.push(...) line with tiny difference in the middle part.

2 Likes

char::to_lowercase and char::to_uppercase return different types ToLowercase and ToUppercase, add a to_string here to return the same type in both branches.

1 Like

You're technically correct. Best kind of correct! :slight_smile:
Joking aside, thank you for correction and apologies to post author for potential confusion.

let cased_char = if rng.gen() {
        c.to_uppercase().to_string()
    } else {
        c.to_lowercase().to_string()
    };
    result.push(format!("{}", cased_char.color(color)));