Similarities To Other Languages

Are there portions of the Rust language that resemble other languages, at least in part? Like is the security portion like ADA? Does the typing follow stringent rules checked by the compiler? Does it use 'local' and/or 'global' variables? What is the 'magic sauce' that guarantees 'security' of finished applications?

Is the only reason why Rust is faster than other languages because of 'no runtime load for garbage collection'?

What language is the compiler for Rust written in?

I am truly interested in how you have created this new language. Thanks...
Robert

I'm only a rust noob but I'll take stab at this:

Looks a lot like C to me. I'm told it has some features that look like they came from Haskell, Ruby and so on.

I have used Ada a bit years ago, in a secure wireless communication system as it happens, I don't recall anything in Ada referred to as "the security portion". Please clarify what you mean.

Rust is statically and strongly typed. Like Ada.

Locals, yes. I'll let others comment on globals. Strongly discouraged.

Nothing will guarantee the "security" of your program if you mean "security" as is typically meant by a computer security researchers and penetration testers.

Rust does however guarantee memory safety and data race safety by not allowing multiple references to the same data that allow it's mutation and not allowing data to be read whist it is being mutated. These rules are checked and enforced at compile time and so incur no run time performance cost.

By the way, Ada is looking into adopting something of the Rust anti-aliasing features now.

I think one of the best explanations of that "magic souce" is in this presentation:
"Polonius: Either Borrower or Lender Be, but Responsibly - Niko Matsakis": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_agDeiWek8w&t=4s

For the best practical introduction to data lifetimes and the borrow checker see here: