Shopping web application

With Rust, can I write a web application that user can run on phone, tablet and PC?

What do you mean exactly?

My take on "web application" is something that runs in a web browser and a backend part that runs on a server (or many).

It should not matter if that browser is running in a phone, tablet or PC or what operating system or browser is in use.

Typically the browser part was written in Javascript or some language that transpires to Javascript. Today we can run WASM in the browser and Rust cane compiled to WASM easily. There are also things like the Yew framework for building web UI with Rust. I have little experience of this but I did off load some computer intensive work to a web worker running Rust compiled to WASM.

Meanwhile at that backend it's pretty easy to put together a web server in Rust using crates like Rocket or Actix. There are also crates for providing websocket connectivity I have been using Rocket with success for a year now.

So, I would say yes. one can write a web application in Rust.

However, there may be a lot missing in that ecosystem at this time. Which may or may not be required by your web application.

Hi, thank you for your very informative answer.
My two years on Gatsby then on Gatsby cloud and Gatsby Themes, there remains nothing to look for, for a full fledged "webapp".
Rust et. al. seems like pointing our left ear with our right hand!!
Best regards

It seems we have a misunderstanding over terminology.

To my mind a "web app" is an application that runs it's from end in the browser. As I described above. Now a days that could be pretty much anything that was previously built as native application for some OS or other.

Turns out what you are looking for a huge all singing all dancing frame work that provides all the features one might need in. Presumably for an on line shopping application in your case.