Sharing methods between structs/traits/trait objects

I'm a relative Rust noob, coming from a Python background. Really enjoying the learning experience so far - and in particular the top-notch documentation and community!

I'm up against a situation that I'm not sure how to approach. So far I've implemented a simple key-value store with SQLite as a backend. My current implementation is in the playground here. It creates an instance of the Db struct that includes a connection an in-memory SQLite database, inserts an Cat object (serialized as JSON), and reads it back out. So far so good.

Currently he Db struct has the public methods open(), get(), and set().

Now, I'd like to split my implementation in two different types of database access:

• One would be DbRW, which incorporates all of the above functionality.
  • The other would be DbRO, which only allows read-only functionality (so open(), and get())

(FWIW, the reason I want this is that in reality this would be used with an on-disk database that's accessed by multiple processes, and I'd like to be explicit about the type of access that each process would have)

Obviously I don't want to have separate implementations of DbRO and DbRW which essentially duplicate the open() and get() methods. [In principle the open() method would actually differ slightly, since the DbRO version would open the database itself in read-only mode]

Where I'm stuck is that I'm not sure how to approach this from a trait/struct perspective. I've read pieces like Implementing an Object-Oriented Design Pattern - The Rust Programming Language and Traits - Rust By Example but I'm not sure how to apply them in this case.

My best guess was to have DbRW and DbRO be structs, with a common Db trait that contains the common logic and returns the right type of struct on open() - but attempting to implement that quickly throws up "object safety" issues that I'm not sure how to address.

error[E0038]: the trait `Db` cannot be made into an object