Share *mut T between threads wrapped in Mutex

Hi Rustaceans,

I’m new to Rust. As my first project I’m reimplementing a multi-threaded programm with a central RDF-graph as knowledge base.
For working with RDF I wrote some Rust-bindings for the Redland API. I wrapped the pointers I get from C in Rust-structs.

To communicate with the RDF-data in multiple threads I wrote some Management-struct. The problem I’m now facing is that my wrapper-structs contain *mut ptr causing the wrappers not to implement neither Send or Sync. I thought that if I wrap my Manager in an Arc<Mutex<>> sending to multiple threads wouldn’t be a problem because the Mutex ensures mutual exclusion therefore making the unsafe *mut ptr threadsafe.

Have you experienced Rustaceans some advices how I could fix this issue?

That’s one of my compiler errors:

error[E0277]: `*mut librdf_rs::extern_c::world::CLibrdfWorld` cannot be shared between threads safely
  --> src/adapter/mod.rs:30:13
   |
30 |             thread::spawn(|| {
   |             ^^^^^^^^^^^^^ `*mut librdf_rs::extern_c::world::CLibrdfWorld` cannot be shared between threads safely
   |
   = help: within `semantic_management::RdfFactory`, the trait `std::marker::Sync` is not implemented for `*mut librdf_rs::extern_c::world::CLibrdfWorld`
   = note: required because it appears within the type `librdf_rs::World`
   = note: required because it appears within the type `semantic_management::RdfFactory`
   = note: required because of the requirements on the impl of `std::marker::Send` for `std::sync::Arc<semantic_management::RdfFactory>`
   = note: required because it appears within the type `adapter::semantics::SemanticAnnotator`
   = note: required because of the requirements on the impl of `std::marker::Send` for `std::sync::Mutex<adapter::semantics::SemanticAnnotator>`
   = note: required because of the requirements on the impl of `std::marker::Sync` for `std::sync::Arc<std::sync::Mutex<adapter::semantics::SemanticAnnotator>>`