Seeking Volunteer Mentor to Enhance My Rust Programming Abilities

Hello, Everyone,

I am DOU Xiaobo, a hearing-impaired individual from the People's Republic of China.

In China, my surname/family name is Dou, and my given name is Xiaobo. However, people commonly address me by my given name, Xiaobo.

From September 2004 to June 2008, I majored in Computer Science and Technology while I was a university student.

Due to my hearing impairment, I have faced difficulties in securing a good job for the past 13.5 years and never have the opportunity to work in the field of coding or software engineer.

On October 23, 2021, I visited the Microsoft Office in Shanghai and met a director who offered me a position as an Administrative Assistant at Microsoft. He proposed that I would spend 30% of my time on administrative tasks and the remaining 70% on learning and improving my coding skills.

I worked at Microsoft from February 10, 2022, to February 9, 2024. During the past two years, the director sent an email to his team, asking if any engineers would volunteer to be my mentor and help me enhance my coding skills.

Since February 9, 2024, until now, I have been unemployed and have not had any job opportunities. Because of Microsoft's policy, the maximum duration for an Administrative Assistant role is two years, and they do not renew contracts beyond that period. The director tried his best to find a new job opportunity for me, but unfortunately, I was not fortunate enough to secure one. Job positions are scarce, and the requirements for interviews have increased, making it difficult for me to continue working at Microsoft as a software engineer.