Seeking API design ideas for my software 3D renderer

I've been writing a software 3D renderer for a few months. The API is designed after OpenGL ES2.0, for better or worse. It has traits for vertex shader and fragment shader. The entire fixed function pipeline works well, and performance is excellent for what it is. The trouble I ran into is when I tried making the type system generic to allow executing the fixed function pipeline with arbitrary shader implementations (which are different types, not known at compile time).

I wrote about the design on my blog; relevant code snippets are included.

It appeared simple enough; global state like a vector of shader programs, render target, depth buffer, viewport matrix, etc. The shader programs are different types, e.g. one that does Gouraud lighting, and another that does water simulation. So I tried a vector of trait objects. But the shader program trait has associated types. AFAICT, the associated types are concrete types, so I wasn't able to populate the vector dynamically.

The complexity was too high with the trait object design, so I scrapped it. I would love to keep the API simple. I really just want to share code and state within the fixed function pipeline across many shader programs. It's easy enough to create multiple instances of my base struct, but then I can't easily share internet state (render target, depth buffer, viewport matrix, ...) between them.

Here's some pseudo code to show the kind of API I wanted:

let SAR = 16.0 / 9.0; // Scene Aspect Ratio

let diffuse_texture = Texture::new( ... );

let uniform = gouraud_shader::Uniform::new(
    cgmath::perspective(cgmath::Deg(60.0_f32), SAR, 1.0, 100.0),
    cgmath::Vector3::new(-1.0, 1.0, 1.0).normalize(),
    diffuse_texture,
);

let vertex_shader = gouraud_shader::Vertex::new();
let shader_program = gouraud_shader::ShaderProgram::new(uniform, vertex_shader);
let mut gl = SoftwareGL::new(shader_program);

loop {
    // Input handling ...