Seeking Advice: Building an Interactive SMS Service

Hope everyone and their families/friends are doing well,

I have a personal project that I have been thinking of building in Rust and would like advice on how to organize it and/or any advice you can throw my way to help me out. I'm a hobbyist and have no formal programming training.

The Project

I would like to build an interactive SMS service to help remind speakers that are scheduled to give talks.

Objectives

• When a speaker is added to the database a SMS message is sent out to said speaker asking if they will accept or deny the assignment
    • The speaker replays to the message with accept or deny
    • The speaker accepts or deny the assignment: SMS is sent to me informing me of their reply.
  • Speakers. which are on the schedule, can use commands to receive more information about their assignments.
    • date - date and time of the assignment
    • zoom - details about the Zoom meeting (ID and passwords)
    • contact - The point of contact they would reach out to in case of an emergency or cancellation
    • help - list of commands
    • etc

Libraries & Services

These are the various crates and services I've been looking at as I prepare to build the project.

• For the text messaging I would like to use Twilio along with the twilio-rs crate
  • For saving configuration files in the correct locations I'm looking to use the directories crate
    • For configuration files: TOML with Surde
  • For asyinc: Tokio
  • For Database: SQLite with the Diesel ORM
  • For command line parsing clap
  • For server: a VPS

Advice

The main advice I'm looking for is how to organize this project:

The program would have to always be running on the server since it can accept incoming SMS messages from speakers at any time. Also, I would need to be able to add and remove speakers from the database.