Searching through text to find characters in a supplied pattern

I am trying to learn rust, and have decided to try to make a very whimsical tool. Essentially the idea is that it would take text input from a .txt file, and search through the text for the first instance of each character in "Gday mate", format these characters to capitals, and print the full text into the terminal with the found characters in a new colour. For now I am working on the searching through text portion of it. I have come up with the following, and have commented it as best I can. I am very new to compiled and statically typed languages (coming from R and Julia mostly), and am very open to any and all help that you can give me. I have thought about trying to rewrite the find_aussies fxn to use an interator rather than the way I am doing it now, but haven't been able to figure that out. Currently I am running into issues with the way I am trying to pull out pieces of the supplied text, generating a panic due to subtraction with overflow. I am not sure how to fix this.

fn check_aussies(lslocs: Vec<Option<usize>>) -> bool {
    let res:bool;
    if lslocs.contains(&None){
        res = true
    } else {
        res = false
    }
res
}

fn find_aussies(s: &String) -> Vec<String> {
    let s_lower = &s.to_lowercase(); //convert to lowercase
    let pattern:&str = "gday mate"; //pattern to search for
    //let inbytes = s_lower.as_bytes(); 
    //let patbytes = pattern.as_bytes();
    let mut locchecks:Vec<Option<usize>> = Vec::new();
    let mut snippets:Vec<String> = Vec::new(); //where the pieces of the original string are stored
    let mut start:usize = 0; //starting point of the search
    let end:usize = s_lower.len(); //end of the search
    for i in pattern.chars() {
        let mut loc:usize = s_lower[start..end].find(i).unwrap(); //find location of first character from pattern in text
        locchecks.push(s[start..end].find(i)); //write the Option<> to the check vector