Searching for either an ascii string or a byte pattern in very large files

Hello.

Im a bit of a beginner in rust, i know some of the basics of reading files etc. But im trying to figure out the following.

I need to:

• search for the first occurrence of a particular byte pattern or a string converted into its ascii representation in an open file.
  • As soon as i find the first occurrence i want to break and return its index.
  • The files are very, very large up to 500/600gb.

I have never written anything like this before so im not really sure where to get started. Usually when i have been able to do searches you can read the entire file into memory and then search, but this time i can't and i guess need to read it into chunks?

For instance how should i deal with the intersection between two chunks? If there is a crate that can do this, its welcome, but im open to writing it myself if needed to learn.

The problem is i have no idea how to think, or where to start? Anyone that could help a noob with some guidance?

Haven't done something like this myself yet, but the aho-corasick crate seems to support files through the stream_find_iter method., Give it a BufReader wrapped file and you should be good to go. Edit: Apparently, the docs recommend not to do extra buffering since an internal buffer is already used by aho-corasick.

If the file you're searching is line oriented and the pattern you're looking for is known to occur within a single line, then the solution is very simple. Open a File, wrap it in a std::io::BufReader and call its lines method. Then search each line. You could easily report the correct offset by keeping track of the starting offset of each line.

If your problem doesn't fit those constraints, then the nexy simplest solution would be to use the memmap crate to get a &[u8] from the File that isn't on the heap and then search that. std doesn't expose a substring routine that works on bytes, but the bstr crate does.