Search for help: cannot borrow `*self` as mutable more than once at a time

Hi, everyone. I am new to Rust. Recently, I am writing a GameBoy emulator with Rust. The code attached below cannot be compiled, which finds the current operation code and executes it.

use std::collections::HashMap; 

pub trait IOperationCode {
    fn step(&mut self, cpu: &mut GameBoyCPU) {
        // do something with cpu.registers, cpu.memories, ...
    }
}

pub struct GameBoyCPU {
    pub opcode_dict: HashMap<u16, Box<dyn IOperationCode>>
    // pub memory: ..., 
    // pub registers: ..., 
}

impl GameBoyCPU {
    pub fn new() -> GameBoyCPU {
        let mut ret = GameBoyCPU {
            opcode_dict: HashMap::new(),
        };

// insert operation codes to opcode_dict 

return ret;
    }

pub fn current_op_mut(&mut self) -> &mut Box<dyn IOperationCode> {
        let current_op: u16 = 0;  // assume that the current opcode is 0.
        let current_op = self.opcode_dict.get_mut(&current_op);
        return current_op.expect("invalid opcode!");
    }

pub fn step(&mut self) {
        let current_op = self.current_op_mut();
        current_op.step(self);
    }

}

The compilation error is:

error[E0499]: cannot borrow `*self` as mutable more than once at a time
  --> src/lib.rs:35:25
   |
34 |         let current_op = self.current_op_mut();
   |                          --------------------- first mutable borrow occurs here
35 |         current_op.step(self);
   |                    ---- ^^^^ second mutable borrow occurs here
   |                    |
   |                    first borrow later used by call

Is there something improper with my structure design? Or the problem can be circumvented with some tricks? Any suggestion is appreciated.

This borrows self in a mutable way as long as current_op lives. I guess you could clone current_op instead of keeping it as reference.

Does the following work (adding .to_owned())?

let current_op = self.current_op_mut().to_owned();