RUSThello -- A simple Reversi game written in Rust with love

Hi all,

I'd like to introduce myself to the Rust Community and to present RUSThello, a little project I've been working on.

As I wanted to give Rust a try, I began working on a simple implementation of Reversi (a popular boardgame also known as Othello). It is now up and running, featuring a simple shell interface and a not too bad AI, so I thought of sharing it with you:

As a disclaimer, I have to warn you all that I am not a professional computer programmer or a Computer Science student, so please keep your expectations low: my main goal was not to produce awesome software, but just to learn a new programming language and have some fun. At best, RUSThello may be reguarded as a simple example of Rust program for beginners like me; at worst, as a collection of mistakes for Rust programmers to avoid.

Of course, any comment or suggestion on the program itself or on my use of Rust would be most appreciated (and let me know if you can defeat the AI)! :wink:

Enrico

Nice stuff! I have skimmed through your code and there were not really anything that stood out to me, except for how you iterate over the board. This is an alternative way of iterating over the board and avoid bounds checks for each access:

// For every row add a row reference to the left
for (row_n, row) in board.iter().enumerate() {
    board_to_string = board_to_string + "\t" + &((row_n + 1).to_string()) + " ";

// For every column, add the appropriate character depending on the content of the current cell
    for (col_n, cell) in row.iter().enumerate() {
        match cell {

This example is for src/interface/mod.rs, but I have seen it in more places. I would recommend looking more into iterators in general. They are incredibly useful.