Rustdoc confusion: why are the method names gray and small?

Hello. I was just having a bit of trouble reading the Rustdoc documentation and had a suggestion/observation to improve useability. I am still really new to Rust, but I am liking it a lot.

I was wondering if there was a reason why the Rustdoc documentation template seems to make the function or methods names gray and small font, while the argument lists return values are bolded and in seemingly a larger font. I am not sure if this is true for others, but for me this has the curious effect of making it hard to find the appropriate function or a specific purpose.

Case in point I was looking at the nalgebra documentation but overlooked a simple method to access individual elements from the matrix datatype. Haha, I actually lost some Stackoverflow reputation points over overlooking this method in the doco.

So just an observation that the Rustdoc template should make the method names or function names in larger font and unbold the rest.

Of course there might be a reason why the Rust developers chose the documentation style that the did. If there is some specific reason, I would appreciate someone sharing it.

I know the developers are busy working on more critical issues. But I figured some noobie feedback might be helpful.

To be exact, do you mean this part, in red rectangle?

Hello Bluss. Yeah, the red triangle is exactly right. I don’t know if anyone else has the same issue, but it makes it really hard to find the function names since the surrounding info is bolded–especially where there are a lot of arguments or type specifications, etc.

I don’t mean to start a thread with lots of opinions and stuff, which is always a risk on forums, eh. I just thought I would mention it to the developers since they might not be aware. Also, I was wondering if there is a way to customize my own rustdoc format when I generate documentation?