Rust on Industrial Controllers

Are there any off the shelf industrial controllers/PLCs for which there is a rust compiler target?

What would a workflow with Rust look like in the context of industrial controllers?

Would it be possible to to write code in any editor, compile it and then flash it to a controller and have it work? Is this something people are working toward?

What's the closest thing we have right now to just writing code, compiling it and using it on industrial grade devices?

1 Like

There was some discussion of this about a year ago:

One of the participants, @Michael-F-Bryan, also has a slightly newer project than the one posted in that thread:

1 Like

@mbrubeck I saw that thread, but it didn’t mention any specific hardware.

I’ll check out rustmatic.

Rust, via its LLVM backend, can compile for the MSP430, which is found in some industrial controllers.

2 Likes

Not that I know of. I work in the CNC industry and when looking at alternate controllers we didn't find anything mentioning Rust.

Most PLCs I've seen will be based on the IEC 61131 family of programming languages (ladder logic diagrams, and structured text, etc.).

I've also run across one or two motion controllers where they've created their own custom DSL that gets compiled on the controller, often with support for interoperating with the IEC 61131 languages.

As far as I know... Write code for a normal microcontroller (e.g. STM32, probably using an RTOS to make things easier) and build the code abstracting over and interacting with hardware yourself :disappointed:

Something you've got to keep in mind is that the entire industrial motion control industry (including PLCs, CNC, etc.) tends to be very slow to adopt new technologies.