Rust on ESP8266

I just published this (pre-alpha, very hacky) script for building ESP8266 firmware written in Rust:

https://github.com/emosenkis/esp-rs

21 Likes

Over the last past few days, the script has been greatly improved. Generating bindings should work for all Arduino/ESP SDK libraries as well as dependencies listed in platformio.ini. Whitelisting is used for bindgen to avoid bloat and unnecessary failures. Documentation has been greatly expanded.

2 Likes

Nice. I have a few of these laying around. Have tried Micro Python and Mongoose OS so far. Will try and find time to have a play with this.

You glorious, glorious individual. I am. So excited. For this.

I've a batch of 10 ESP8285s and a Minix arriving soon, so will hopefully be first attempting this deployment over thanksgiving break (Nov 17 to Nov 28). This would entail starting from a fresh ubuntu install, so I'll document the whole process in line with issue 6.

I'm new to Rust and to the 8285, though I've used my fair share of different microcontrollers- I'm in wearable robotics & biosensors sorts of stuff.

1 Like

I pushed some more updates to the repo which should make it more user-friendly and hopefully more reliable. See the README for update instructions and more details on the changes.

Has anyone built anything interesting for ESP8266 in Rust so far?

4 Likes

I haven't gotten the chance to use this script yet but I'll try to do so soon.

The thing I'm mostly wondering about is what we'll have to do for library support. Like...having more...Rust-y libraries to use in ESP development would be really cool

I've pushed a few changes to use a more recent mrustc and Arduino SDK. Rust dependencies using cargo-vendor are now supported. I'm also working on an implementation of embedded-hal for ESP8266. I'll push it to crates.io once I figure out the proper way to handle libraries that depend on bindings to the Arduino SDK.

1 Like