Rust, ios, swift

For those (1) familiar with Rust and (2) doing iOS dev, do you: (a) use swift or (b) use Rust ?

Swift (compared to ObjC) seems close enough to Rust for most purposes, and I'm not sure if it's worth fighting the iOS dev tool chain just to use Rust.

Nothing could be further from the truth. At this point I'd argue Swift is a lot closer to Java than it is to Rust.

I've been doing iOS development since 2009, first just as a hobby (when jailbreaking was still a thing – oh, the merry days of reverse engineering iOS system components with the almighty tool that is class-dump-z!), then professionally for a couple years. I've been following Swift since its public release in 2014 – but I semi-definitely quit iOS development about a year and a half ago.

My latest project was purely Swift, but I would still have preferred Objective-C, somehow. The problem with Swift that its type system is needlessly bureaucratic. It doesn't save you from nearly as many bugs as Rust does, yet it gets in the way all the time.

Type-level thread safety and ownership is not a thing, pointers are implicit and always-transitively-mutable, but try to do something slightly complex with an associated type, or call a method that throws an exception in a context where this "unlikely" possibility wasn't anticipated well before, and woe betide you!, the compiler will complain. In Objective-C, there's no real type system, but at least you don't run into artificial limitations.

I'd love to do my iOS development in Rust, but knowing Apple's attitude towards supporting any other 3rd-party language, I'm not sure I'd have the courage, the patience, and the intricate knowledge of Xcode's mental health issues to ever try it out.

2 Likes