Rust for Forensics (also: accessing bytes on a raw disk?)

Hi all! Many thanks for letting me join this channel.

I'm a forensics major trying to learn rust. Since I hear it’s the best language out there for systems level programming. I am new to this field, trying to become better.

My task is to make a small "forensic copy" tool. The tool is supposed to read raw bits/bytes from a device and then make a bit by bit copy of everything that is in there.

And then at the end create an image file of that device.

This tool is essentially just a copy of dd or dc3dd.

What library is available to access those raw bytes from a drive or is there some other way to do achieve above task?

Other than this I would also like to know everyone's opinion on Rust being a suitable programming language for forensics & security related work.

Thanks ^.^

Hi and welcome! a dd-like tool sounds like a wonderful learning program!
I've taken the liberty of clarifying your topic title, in the hopes of getting you more eyeballs. (Feel free to change it back if you dislike my interpretation!)

I am not aware of any low-level disk-access libraries for the rust ecosystem, but I admit that I haven't searched for them either. The Go-To resource for crates is always the official crates.io repository. You may also like the community experimental crates.rs, which tries a lot of different ways to analyse cargo metadata and thereby improve searching and sorting.

If you only need to work on linux, you can benefit from the Unix/Linux "everything is a file" paradigm: You can then File::open() the /dev/hdX node, and do bit-copies from it, exactly as if it was a normal file.
You'll probably want to to throw in a BufReader with a few megabytes of buffer; otherwise you'll be doing a separate syscall for every single byte.