Rust for a startup

Hi,

A friend and I are trying to launch a Startup. My background is in .NET (Mono/C#/F#), Scala and bare-metal C programming.

The 3 options we are looking at are:

• Haskell
  • C#/F#
  • Rust

Rust seems to combine the good parts of Haskell and C#

I was wondering whether the community thinks Rust is in a usable state?

I particular the following questions came up:
A. Environment

• Is Iron (or any other web framework) startup-ready? (The other option is ASP.NET Core with our own routing. I hate reflection based code.)
  • Are drivers for RabbitMQ/Reddis/MangaDB/MariaDB in a stable state?
  • Can we integrate Rust libraries in IOS/Android? Is mobile development possible?
  • How much time does it take to really learn Rust well? I have experience with most languages(C#/Scala/Haskell/F#/C (bare-metal)) so I think I should be able to pick it up fast. But what about other devs?
  • What is the state of tooling? Are there good linters we can use/contribute too?

B. The language

• Are there any use cases where a bad programmer can make big mistakes with the lifetimes?

In other words, is there an equivalent to null ? Something people always forget but the compiler doesn't catch?

We are actually using it for our startup. Iron is pretty good. Good enough to be used in production, anyway. And Redis and MariaDB/MySQL drivers are stable enough. InteliJ Idea and Atom plugins are really awesome, and I think the tooling is really ready for production.

About the rest of the questions, I wouldn't know what to say. It took me about a month to learn Rust and about 6 months to be 100% confortable using it. I still learn small new things though. And about mobile development, I know it's possible to compile for mobile, but I'm not sure of SDK support.

4 Likes

The canonical linter is clippy.