Rust FFI with Callback memory issue

I am just learning Rust therefore I apologize if this is a very basic question. I want to create a library that I can use across multiple languages and operating systems. This library will need to have the ability to use callbacks to pass information back to the main application so it does not hang while the Rust library does its thing. When I spawn a new thread, and pass in the reference to the callback function it appears that I may have a memory leak.
I created a sample project where the Rust code looks like this:

use std::thread;
use std::time::Duration;

pub fn do_logic() -> i32 {
    thread::sleep(Duration::from_millis(50)); 
}

#[no_mangle]
#[cfg(windows)]
pub extern fn my_rust_function(callback: extern "stdcall" fn(i32)) {
    thread::spawn(move || {
        let val = do_logic();
        callback(val);
    });
}

#[no_mangle]
#[cfg(not(windows))]
pub extern fn my_rust_function(callback: extern "C" fn(i32)) {
    thread::spawn(move || {
        let val = do_logic();
        callback(val);
    });
}

For my logic I am just pausing for a short period of time and then return a value back. When the value is returned I use the callback function to return the value to the main application. In the main application, using C# or Java, if I call the my_rust_function each time the callback is called the memory usage continuously goes up. If I change the code in the my_rust_function to this:

let val = do_logic();
callback(val);

where the thread::spawn line is removed then the memory usage stays constant. As an example of how I am testing this code, here is the sample C# code that uses it:

public sealed partial class MainPage : Page
{
    public delegate void PrintFn(int x);

[DllImport("rust_forum_example.dll")]
    private static extern Int32 my_rust_function(PrintFn fn);

int cnt = 0;

public MainPage()
    {
        this.InitializeComponent();
        callRust();
    }

public void callRust()
    {