Rust crypto: Diffie-Hellman

Hello,

In my implementation of a library to interface with SecretService (an API that for example Gnome Keyring implements), I need to send values encrypted with keys exchanged via Diffie-Hellman.

The pattern I'm trying to follow is secretstorage/dhcrypto.py at master · mitya57/secretstorage · GitHub

As far as I can see, I can use the rust-crypto crate for encryption, but not DH. OpenSSL crate seems to have a DH module, but comes with the OpenSSL dependency.

If I just try to follow the python SecretStorage library, the roadblock I run into is generating the public key from the private key, which requires pow(), which only works on up to usize in the num crate.

Am I missing something really simple here? Advice and options greatly appreciated.

Hi, I'm pretty new to Rust but I think I may be able to help. In this module of the rust-crypto crate, the keypair function can be used to generate a public and private key pair. Once you've exchanged public keys, the exchange function can be used to create a shared secret key to be used for encryption. Hopefully this helps, if not, there is a rust-crypto channel on irc.mozilla.org, they've been helpful when I've had questions.

Out of curiosity, does anyone actually use anything other than the plain mode (no crypto)? I assume any program capable of reading DBus's memory would be capable of reading the memory of the SecretService service.

Thanks for the suggestion! I'll probably also ask in the rust-crypto channel soon too, crypto is not an area I'm familiar with at all.

If you have a moment, the main thing I'm having trouble is how the ed25519 module fits into DH exchange. Especially, in the SS API, it says I should use the

1024 bit parameters of the standard IETF 'Second Oakley Group'

and I'm not sure how that fits into ed25519.