Rust Compilation Error: cannot borrow as mutable because it is also borrowed as immutable

Hello, I'm new to rust, and I'm trying to compile this code:

struct ObjA {
    v: usize,
    ptr: *const [i32]
}

impl ObjA {
    fn get_ptr(&self) -> & [i32] {
        unsafe { &*self.ptr }
    }
}
struct ObjB<'a> {
    a: &'a [i32],
    obja: &'a mut ObjA
}

fn main() {
    let mut buf = [0; 10];
    let mut obja = ObjA { v: 12, ptr: buf.as_slice() };

let ptr = obja.get_ptr();
    let b = ObjB { a: ptr, obja: &mut obja };

}

error message:

error[E0502]: cannot borrow `obja` as mutable because it is also borrowed as immutable
  --> src/main.rs:21:34
   |
20 |     let ptr = obja.get_ptr();
   |               -------------- immutable borrow occurs here
21 |     let b = ObjB { a: ptr, obja: &mut obja };
   |             ---------------------^^^^^^^^^--
   |             |                    |
   |             |                    mutable borrow occurs here
   |             immutable borrow later used here

I don't understand why the immutable borrow is still used after get_ptr function has been executed.

The immutable borrow lasts until the last use of the return value of get_ptr because the un-elided form of your function is:

impl ObjA {
    fn get_ptr<'a>(&'a self) -> &'a [i32] {
        unsafe { &*self.ptr }
    }
}
1 Like

First up, note that it's usually a good idea to learn some Rust without immediately using unsafe code. E.g. the thing you're doing here with obja which contains a pointer to the stack to buf: You can do that with

struct ObjA<'a> {
    ptr: &'a [i32]
}