Rust-analyzer doesn't check the buffer on typing, but only on save. How to change that?

Hi all!
I'm quite new to Rust and I'm learning it doing some exercises on Emacs. I use lsp-mode with rust-analyzer and rustic mode.
I noticed that RA checks the buffer only when I save the buffer, and not when I modify the file.
Since I'm a new user, I can only put one picture, to see the complete series of screenshots please see the issue I opened on GH.

For example, I have a file that gives me a warning (first picture on GH).

When I modify it I'd want to have the error to be "updated", however I get this:

Here it is reported a warning, but it works with non syntax-related errors too (say, incompatible types). Notice how Emacs doesn't receive notification of the new warning, so it keeps displaying it in the old position.

Instead, when I save the file RA correctly reprocesses it, and Emacs gives me the "updated" view (third picture):

This is, ideally, what I'd want from the beginning, every time the buffer is modified.

Is this a malfunctioning of RA? Is there a way to tune this behavior?
Thanks for your work!

No, it's because your system would likely grind to a halt if you did this and also opened a large rust project. Analyzing rust code can be quite resource intensive in both cpu time and RAM consumption.

Thanks, but I don't think that's the problem. The project I'm working on is a simple exercise from Advent of Code, say < 150 loc. Also, when I save my file, RA reprocesses it in a blink.

What I meant is, if they enabled analysis on every keystroke, it would be a performance footnuke¹.
While it might work for you right now, it would invariably blow up for anyone who had the audacity to open a "large enough" project, or just happened to hack their way into one for that matter.

¹The reason I call it a footnuke is that it wouldn't just blow up the analysis (and potentially editor) procs, it would grind your entire system to a halt, forcing a reboot.

1 Like