Rookie's question: How shall I handle ownership with this embedded code (singletons)?

Hello and my apologies for the bad summary. I didn't find a good way to summarize my problem, which is:

As a rust rookie, I'm trying to write some code for an attiny85, mainly using attiny_hal. I want to write some code for communication via RS485. For this, I need (at least) access to a timer, the serial interface and one pin that changes the direction of the communication (half duplex).

I get access to the peripherals like this:

let peripherals = attiny_hal::Peripherals::take().unwrap();

let timer0 = peripherals.TC0;
    let usi = peripherals.USI;
    let portb = peripherals.PORTB; // that's bad :(

let mut uart = usiuart::new(timer0, usi, portb);

uart.tx_init();

Then I initialise my struct and give it ownership of the peripherals. After all, timer0 and usi should only be handled by my communication code, but no one else:

pub struct UsiUart {
    timer0: TC0,  // Access to the timer 0 device
    usi: USI,     // Access to the Universal Serial Interface
    portb: PORTB, // TODO: I'm passing the whole PORTB while I only need ddrb because I don't know how to do only the latter.
    // more internal stuff
}

pub fn new(timer0: TC0, usi: USI, portb: PORTB) -> UsiUart {
    UsiUart {
        timer0,
        usi,
        portb,
        // more internal stuff
    }
}

So I'm currently giving the whole port B to UsiUart which is of course complete nonsense: I only need control over a few pins (PB0, PB1 and PB3) and I need the other pins to access other hardware. Does it make sense to borrow PORTB / store a reference to it in UsiUart? How else can I handle it?

There are much more problems for me to solve, but this is the most imminent. I think, for example, that UsiUart should be a singleton itself since it doesn't make sense to have two of them (at least on the attiny85). But that's a different problem.

Thanks a lot for your help!