Review of a language addition idea

I am relatively new to rust, so this may already be a thing in one way or another. I had an idea for an addition to the rust language, and was hoping to understand how good/bad of an idea it was.

I am calling my idea compile time type tagging. Essentially you can create a type tag for a specific type, and then tag that type when applicable. I think an example would be best...

This example creates a function to tag a string as ascii if it is ascii, and then any function that requires the type tag would be compile time checked for that tag.

Tag IsAscii for String;

pub fn check_ascii(self) -> Option<<IsAscii>self> {
    if self.is_ascii() {
        Some(<IsAscii>self)
    } else {
        None
    }
}
pub fn make_ascii_lowercase(&<IsAscii>mut self) {blah}

I do not like this syntax, but I was just trying to check the soundness of the idea. The ergonomics would need to be improved significantly.

I think this could be applied in a similar way to traits where you can create your own Tags and apply them to any types, or you can take an external Tag and apply it to your own types, but you can't apply an external Tag to an external type.

Existing functions could be tagged such that it does not undo the tag (since any mutable function would have to reset the type tag). I am not sure what this syntax would look like, but:

// This function could be tagged to indicate it does not change the tag state
pub fn make_ascii_lowercase(&mut self);

The goal of this type tagging is to create a sort of contract driven design that would have minimal impact on the runtime. The only runtime change would be the checks functions that would apply the tag to the type. It might also be possible to sometimes do this at compile time for simpler cases.

Thoughts? If the idea sucks I am fine with that. Just trying to learn by experimenting.

1 Like

This is what we call a newtype.

struct Ascii(String);
fn from_str(text: &str) -> Option<Ascii> {}